En route to the WMRT final
  • M32
July 2, 2019

Yann Guichard and his team will take part in the GKSS Match Cup Sweden, the grand finale of the Match Racing World Championship in Marstrand, from 3rd - 7th July.

The team has competed at Marstrand a number of times, including winning last year’s opening event of the World Match Racing Series. Some of the biggest names on the M32 circuit will be on the water later this week, all trying to win the coveted World Championship title.

The black and gold team already have secured podium positions in both of the previous M32 events this season, however for this event they will be up against four previous World Champions: Championship title defender, Australian Torvar Mirsky, America's Taylor Canfield (the 2013 champion), the New Zealander Phil Robertson, and arguably the most successful team in the series, the UK's Ian Williams, who has six World Championship titles to his name.

These teams are continually working on their performance and building their experience by racing on a number of circuits including the M32 Series, the F50 and the GC32. The Spindrift racing team will have to make as few mistakes as possible, be consistent and ensure that their tactics are on point to make the most of any fleet or duels.

"We are racing at Marstrand for the fourth year in a row so it's a race course that we are starting to know well. It is a beautiful venue, a tactical race course, and there is always large and enthusiastic crowds watching the racing. This year, we have prepared for this event by taking part in a couple other M32 Series events as well as winning the Bol d’Or Mirabaud. Our teamwork is good and we are very focused, but the quality of the competition is very high, and they will not miss any opportunity to pounce!” concluded Yann Guichard.

This event will bring to a close the 2018/2019 WMRT season. The final was originally scheduled for November 2018 but had to be postponed due to a change in ownership of the circuit.

Spindrift racing crew:

Yann Guichard 
Christophe Espagnon
François Morvan
Mathieu Salomon

Confirmed skippers for the final:

Nicklas Dackhammer (SWE) Essiq Racing Team
Ian Williams (GBR) GAC Pindar
Yann Guichard (FRA) Spindrift Racing
Harry Price (AUS) Down Under Racing
Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Cetilar Mirsky Racing Team
Mans Holmberg (SWE) Stratsys Racing Team
Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Berntsson Sailing Team
Markus Edegran (USA) Team Torrent
Phil Robertson (NZL) China One Ningbo
Pieter-Jan Postma (NED) Sailing Team NL
Daniel Björnholt (DEN) Youth Vikings Denmark
Taylor Canfield (USA) US One