Spindrift racing in Chinese Championship Finale
  • M32
October 23, 2017

Yann Guichard and his crew will be competing in the much-anticipated Championship Final of the World Match Racing Tour from tomorrow –Tuesday - in Shenzhen, China.

The World Championship is being held as part of the 11th edition of the China Cup International Regatta, and Guichard and his crew will be among 1500 sailors representing almost 40 countries competing in Daya Bay near Shenzhen, one of China’s most advanced and up-and-coming cities.

This event marks the culmination of the 2017 World Match Racing Tour with Spindrift racing competing in five events in the season, and recently winning the Alicante Match Cup with a perfect score at this showcase event held against the backdrop of the Volvo Ocean Race start.

Yann Guichard and his crew of Christophe Espagnon, Francois Morvan and Sam Goodchild have had this closing event of the season very much in their sights since the outset and victory at the Alicante Match Cup was a great boost to the gold and black France-based team. 

The event gave us a great confidence boost and also a good opportunity to continue to work on strategy, particularly our starts and we were able to make some good progress by being more aggressive and less defensive in this critical part of the race.“  Commented Guichard

The M32 fleet will be back up to full strength for the World Championship, with 18 teams competing to win the coveted title. Spindrift racing will face stiff competition from the likes of reigning World champion Phil Robertson, Taylor Canfield, Ian Williams and Chris Steele amongst others.

We are excited to be back on the water competing against some of the best match racers in the world.  For us, like all the teams, this is THE event in the calendar and we will all be striving to sail as well as possible to be able to achieve a coveted podium position,” commented Yann Guichard.

Fleet racing for the WMRT World Championship starts on Tuesday with the fleet racing the teams divided into three pools.

Fleet One

Robertson / China One Ningbo

Canfield / US One

Guichard / Spindrift racing 

Holmberg / Gothenburg Racing

Thomas / RPM Racing

Edegran / E11EVEN Racing


Fleet Two

Williams / GAC Pindar

Steele / 36 Below Racing

D Gilmour / Team Gilmour

Mirsky / Mirsky Racing Team

Warrer / Warrer Racing

Aschenbrenner / Aschenbrenner Racing


Fleet Three

S Gilmour / Neptune Racing

Jerwood / Redline Racing 

Postma / Sailing Team NL 

Dackhammar / Essiq Racing Team 

Berntsson / Berntsson Sailing Team

Price / Down Under Racing