Ladycat powered by Spindrift racing secures D35 Trophy podium
  • Ladycat
September 27, 2015

The final D35 event of the season, the Grand Prix de Clôture, took place on Friday and Saturday in Geneva, where the conditions were sunny and windy, ideal for intense competition. As is typical on the D35 circuit, the performances were exceptional and the points hotly contested. Ladycat powered by Spindrift racing finished fifth in the event and third in the overall D35 Trophy standings, adding to the championship podiums of 2012 and 2014.

Sporting the colours of Swiss partners Mirabaud, Genes-x and Zenith, Ladycat was once again one of the main protagonists. The black and gold catamaran finished third in the Bol d’Or Mirabaud back in June and has been consistent throughout the season. Her reward: a place alongside Team Tilt (1st) and Alinghi (2nd) on the championship podium.

“It’s very satisfying for the team,” explained Ladycat skipper Dona Bertarelli, “since our schedule is particularly busy this year, as we prepare for the Jules Verne Trophy. You need a strong team spirit to perform well in the D35 class, so finishing third bodes well for the rest of our programme. We would like to congratulate the winners Tilt Team on their remarkable, consistent season. Their performance was outstanding, so bravo.”

The D35 circuit is a key component of the French-Swiss team’s programme, which combines inshore regattas with offshore races. In just a few weeks’ time, the trimaran Spindrift 2 will be all set to attempt the Jules Verne Trophy around-the-world record, but before then, Spindrift racing’s sailors are back in competition this week at Marseille One Design, the final stage of the Bullitt GC32 Racing Tour. Yann Guichard and his crew will race on the flying catamaran GC32 Spindrift, taking on their rivals in four days of intensive racing on the waters of Marseille.

Ladycat powered by Spindrift racing team:

Dona Bertarelli, skipper
Yann Guichard
Xavier Revil
François Morvan
Jacques Guichard
Christophe Espagnon
Thierry Douillard
Benjamin Amiot
François Verdier
Nicolas Débordes, shore support

Final standings of the 2015 D35 Trophy:

1. Team Tilt, 15 points
2. Alinghi, 17 points
3. Ladycat powered by Spindrift racing , 34 points
4. Veltigroup-Swisscom, 35 points
5. Realteam, 40 points
6. Okalys, 54 points
7. Mobimo, 55 points
8. Zen Too, 59 points
9. Racing Django, 65 points
10. Oryx, 77 points
11. Ylliam-Comptoir Immobilier, 77 points